We are independent & ad-supported. We may earn a commission for purchases made through our links.
Advertiser Disclosure
Our website is an independent, advertising-supported platform. We provide our content free of charge to our readers, and to keep it that way, we rely on revenue generated through advertisements and affiliate partnerships. This means that when you click on certain links on our site and make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn more.
How We Make Money
We sustain our operations through affiliate commissions and advertising. If you click on an affiliate link and make a purchase, we may receive a commission from the merchant at no additional cost to you. We also display advertisements on our website, which help generate revenue to support our work and keep our content free for readers. Our editorial team operates independently of our advertising and affiliate partnerships to ensure that our content remains unbiased and focused on providing you with the best information and recommendations based on thorough research and honest evaluations. To remain transparent, we’ve provided a list of our current affiliate partners here.

What Are the Seven Stages?

By Angela Farrer
Updated Feb 15, 2024
Our promise to you
WiseGeek is dedicated to creating trustworthy, high-quality content that always prioritizes transparency, integrity, and inclusivity above all else. Our ensure that our content creation and review process includes rigorous fact-checking, evidence-based, and continual updates to ensure accuracy and reliability.

Our Promise to you

Founded in 2002, our company has been a trusted resource for readers seeking informative and engaging content. Our dedication to quality remains unwavering—and will never change. We follow a strict editorial policy, ensuring that our content is authored by highly qualified professionals and edited by subject matter experts. This guarantees that everything we publish is objective, accurate, and trustworthy.

Over the years, we've refined our approach to cover a wide range of topics, providing readers with reliable and practical advice to enhance their knowledge and skills. That's why millions of readers turn to us each year. Join us in celebrating the joy of learning, guided by standards you can trust.

Editorial Standards

At WiseGeek, we are committed to creating content that you can trust. Our editorial process is designed to ensure that every piece of content we publish is accurate, reliable, and informative.

Our team of experienced writers and editors follows a strict set of guidelines to ensure the highest quality content. We conduct thorough research, fact-check all information, and rely on credible sources to back up our claims. Our content is reviewed by subject-matter experts to ensure accuracy and clarity.

We believe in transparency and maintain editorial independence from our advertisers. Our team does not receive direct compensation from advertisers, allowing us to create unbiased content that prioritizes your interests.

The seven stages of yoga refer to seven levels of spiritual enlightenment that the dedicated yogi is meant to achieve through regular yoga practice and deep meditation. These seven stages of development are holistic, emphasizing physical, mental, and psychological well-being through transcendence of everyday desires and biases. This journey is also known as jnana yoga; "jnana" is a Sanskrit word for knowledge. The names of the seven stages come from ancient philosophical writings called yoga sutras, which are meant to provide a spiritual road map to living a meaningful and positive life.

Every beginner yogi starts with mental preparation for the first stage, known as yama. Many spend a good amount of time at this stage because it involves gaining greater control over each individual thought, statement, and action. A yogi strives to banish all thoughts and actions that are harmful to any other living thing, to be completely honest with others as well as with him- or herself, and to let go of attachments to material things as well as physical pleasures. Yama is the most important phase of this spiritual path because it lays the foundation for the remaining seven stages of yoga.

Niyama is the second stage; it involves a deeper level of self-examination. A yogi in the niyama stage focuses on the inner discipline to accept the present and make productive improvements to his or her future. An additional goal of niyama is to rid the mind and body of negative, impure, and self-destructive energies. The final component of this stage is embracing a higher power, which yogis often call "Divine Love."

While the first two stages take the yogi through altering his or her mindset, the third stage blends this new way of thinking with practicing yoga postures. This phase is called asana, and its goal is complete control over every phase of movement in order to further the capacity for deep meditation. A yogi who is able to balance in a difficult pose for a long period of time has mastered much of the common hurdle of physical pain or discomfort, leading to the potential for deeper wisdom in the more advanced stages.

The fourth and fifth of yoga's seven stages are called pranayama and pratyahara. Pranayama specifically builds on the newly disciplined thought processes that began in the first stage; it entails the yogi’s strengthening his or her powers of intense concentration through connecting deep breathing exercises to mental focus on only the inner self. Pratyahara emphasizes mental detachment from any external distractions during yoga meditation.

Mastery of the fifth stage is crucial to moving into the sixth, known as dharana. Now that the yogi feels he or she can transcend outside distractions, he or she strives in the dharana stage to quiet the mind of any nonessential thoughts. This part of yoga practice involves intense focus on one object, which is different for each yogi. In the seventh and final stage of yoga called dhyana, the mind is completely unaware of anything other than the one object, which yoga masters believe is essential to inner peace and heightened awareness.

WiseGeek is dedicated to providing accurate and trustworthy information. We carefully select reputable sources and employ a rigorous fact-checking process to maintain the highest standards. To learn more about our commitment to accuracy, read our editorial process.
Discussion Comments
WiseGeek, in your inbox

Our latest articles, guides, and more, delivered daily.

WiseGeek, in your inbox

Our latest articles, guides, and more, delivered daily.