Halal wine is a type that has no alcohol content. Wine and other forms of alcohol are forbidden in Islam, so a type of nonalcohol wine was developed to allow Muslims to drink without going against the rules of the Qur'an. Halal wine makers produce it under very exacting conditions, and it goes through a number of religious and technical examinations before being certified as halal. The wine is certified by the Halal Institute of the Islamic Board or the Halal Quality Control.
The first patent for wine without alcohol was registered as early as 1908, but all the wines available in the market had at least 0.5% of alcohol. This made it impossible for followers of Islam to have any wine because it was declared as haraam in addition to any form of alcohol and narcotics. According to the Quran, any substance consumed, whether it be drunk, smoked, or eaten, with the intent of getting intoxicated is haraam. This applies even if the substance contains alcohol in very small quantities, such as teriyaki sauce. Foods that may contain very minute traces of alcohol as a result of chemical reactions in the manufacturing process are exempt.
The teachings prohibit alcohol and gambling as Satan's handiwork; the objections include the belief that drinking alcohol distracts Muslims from their prayers, and it was declared to be one of the most shameful of all evils. Muslims had to abstain from drinking all wine until very recently, when halal wine became available. Wine makers state that halal wine has half the calorific value of alcoholic wine and that it confers numerous side benefits. The wine is considered to be useful in inhibiting arteriosclerosis and reducing the risk of developing cancer.
The process of making halal wine involves vacuum distilling at low temperatures, which preserves its flavors — its taste is supposed to come very close to the real thing. More than mere unprocessed grape juice, the alcohol-free wine is available only at very select outlets. There are numerous types available, including white, bubbly, sparkling, and red halal wine. This wine not only gives Muslims more drink options at social events, but it is also a good alternative for the health conscious, pregnant women, and vehicle drivers. It makes it possible for those who love a glass of wine to have a drink and not experience any intoxicating aftereffects.