What Is Gluten-Free Cheesecake?

Jennifer Leigh
Jennifer Leigh
Flour made from buckwheat does not contain any gluten.
Flour made from buckwheat does not contain any gluten.

Gluten-free cheesecake is made from products that do not contain any gluten proteins, which include items such as wheat, barley, and rye. In a cheesecake, gluten is usually found within the crust, as the filling rarely contains any of these products. Individuals often look for gluten-free cheesecake as part of an overall gluten-free diet, in order to avoid products that cause irritation and problems from a gluten intolerance. This type of cheesecake can be made by substituting other ingredients that do not include gluten, and can be purchased at the store or made at home.

Cheesecake can be made to accommodate those that are unable to eat gluten products.
Cheesecake can be made to accommodate those that are unable to eat gluten products.

People who choose not to eat gluten often suffer from an intolerance of the protein. When eaten, it can cause problems such as irritation of the stomach, depression, or bloating. Celiac disease is an extreme form of gluten intolerance that can cause important nutrients not to be absorbed into the body. It is extremely important for individuals diagnosed with a gluten problem to avoid it by substituting other ingredients in its place.

A person with a gluten intolerance may experience abdominal cramping, gas and diarrhea as a result of consuming products containing gluten.
A person with a gluten intolerance may experience abdominal cramping, gas and diarrhea as a result of consuming products containing gluten.

Cheesecake filling generally contains such ingredients as cream cheese, sugar, eggs, and cream. Other versions add fruit or other types of cheeses, such as ricotta, but for the most part, the filling does not contain anything that contains gluten protein. The main source of gluten in cheesecake is in the crust, which can be made out of wheat products in traditional cheesecake.

Gluten-free flours, like teff flour and brown rice flour, may be substituted for white flour in a gluten-free cheesecake.
Gluten-free flours, like teff flour and brown rice flour, may be substituted for white flour in a gluten-free cheesecake.

A gluten-free flour mix needs to be substituted for regular flour when making a gluten-free cheesecake. Gluten-free flours include amaranth, buckwheat, and brown rice flour, but there are many others available. These flours cook slightly differently than wheat flour, so it is important for people to test recipes and flour proportions when cooking at home. In addition, nuts can be added to the flour mixture to provide different flavors and more of a crunch, which some people enjoy.

Celiac disease is an extreme form of gluten intolerance.
Celiac disease is an extreme form of gluten intolerance.

There are many recipes available for gluten-free cheesecake, in cookbooks and online, but it can also be purchased at a store. It is important to make sure that none of the ingredients listed were made in a facility where they could have been contaminated with gluten. Ingredient labels will generally list this information to ensure that people with food allergies are safe. When eating gluten-free cheesecake that does not have a label, it is important for an individual to ask the person who made it if it has any gluten in it.

Discussion Comments

Rotergirl

Cheesecake has to be one of the easiest recipes to convert to gluten-free. A crust made of finely ground almonds or almond flour is tasty and a cinch to make in a food processor.

You just combine the finely ground almonds, melted butter and a little sugar in the food processor, pulse a few times until mixed and bingo! Instant cheesecake crust, ready to be pressed into the bottom of a springform pan. You could use almost any nut that grinds to a fine powder.

This crust recipe works for almost every recipe using a graham cracker crust. It's also low-carb -- an additional bonus.

Post your comments
Login:
Forgot password?
Register:
    • Flour made from buckwheat does not contain any gluten.
      By: Vidady
      Flour made from buckwheat does not contain any gluten.
    • Cheesecake can be made to accommodate those that are unable to eat gluten products.
      By: CandyBox Images
      Cheesecake can be made to accommodate those that are unable to eat gluten products.
    • A person with a gluten intolerance may experience abdominal cramping, gas and diarrhea as a result of consuming products containing gluten.
      By: inesbazdar
      A person with a gluten intolerance may experience abdominal cramping, gas and diarrhea as a result of consuming products containing gluten.
    • Gluten-free flours, like teff flour and brown rice flour, may be substituted for white flour in a gluten-free cheesecake.
      By: Marek
      Gluten-free flours, like teff flour and brown rice flour, may be substituted for white flour in a gluten-free cheesecake.
    • Celiac disease is an extreme form of gluten intolerance.
      By: joshya
      Celiac disease is an extreme form of gluten intolerance.