What Are the Vegan Essentials?

A.E. Freeman
A.E. Freeman
Many vegan dishes includes chickpeas.
Many vegan dishes includes chickpeas.

Vegan essentials include vegetables, fruits, and whole grains as well as non-animal sources of protein. People who follow a vegan diet and lifestyle do not consume any animal products, including eggs, dairy, and honey. Many vegans also do not wear leather or wool or anything made from an animal. While most nutrients can be obtained through a strictly plant-based diet, some are harder to obtain than others. Aside from the basics, vegan essentials also include nutritional yeast and omega-3 supplements.

Fruit and vegetables, which make up a large part of a vegan diet.
Fruit and vegetables, which make up a large part of a vegan diet.

Vegan essentials include plant-based sources of protein. Many vegans get protein from beans such as black beans, pinto beans, or soybeans. Chickpeas and lentils are other sources of protein. Soybeans can be consumed as endamame, which are the immature beans, or in more processed forms such as tofu, which is curdled soy milk, or tempeh, which is a fermented soybean cake. Another type of vegan protein is wheat gluten, or seitan, which has a chewy texture and is commonly used in place of meat.

Assorted beans. Beans can easily be used in most vegan dishes.
Assorted beans. Beans can easily be used in most vegan dishes.

As vegans do not eat dairy products such as milk or butter, vegan essentials include replacements for dairy. Various milk substitutes are available made from soy, rice, or a variety of nuts. Many vegan milk products contain added calcium and vitamin B-12. Other vegan essentials include vegetable-based fats and oils, such as margarine made without any dairy products, olive oil, and canola oil.

In a vegan diet, soy milk is often substituted for dairy milk.
In a vegan diet, soy milk is often substituted for dairy milk.

Vegans also use egg replacements in baked goods. Flax seed is a common egg replacement and is also a good source of omega-3 fatty acids, which can be difficult to get with a vegan diet. Bananas, silken tofu, and starches are also sometimes used in place of eggs.

Vitamin B-12 is necessary for healthy red blood cells. It is an essential nutrient usually found only in animal products, unless a food is fortified with it. Nutritional yeast one of the vegan essentials that contains B-12. Vegans use nutritional yeast as a cheese substitute and add it to various recipes. The yeast is not the same as the yeast used to bake bread or brew beer.

Flax seeds can replace eggs in some recipes.
Flax seeds can replace eggs in some recipes.

Many vegans also need to find a way to add omega-3 fatty acids to their diets. Omega-3s are found in flax seeds and in algae. A vegan may wish to take an omega-3 supplement made from algae oil to ensure that she gets enough of the nutrient in her diet. Nuts such as walnuts are also good vegan sources of omega-3s.

You might also Like

Readers Also Love

Discuss this Article

Post your comments
Login:
Forgot password?
Register:
    • Many vegan dishes includes chickpeas.
      Many vegan dishes includes chickpeas.
    • Fruit and vegetables, which make up a large part of a vegan diet.
      By: monticellllo
      Fruit and vegetables, which make up a large part of a vegan diet.
    • Assorted beans. Beans can easily be used in most vegan dishes.
      By: tfazevedo
      Assorted beans. Beans can easily be used in most vegan dishes.
    • In a vegan diet, soy milk is often substituted for dairy milk.
      By: 3dsguru
      In a vegan diet, soy milk is often substituted for dairy milk.
    • Flax seeds can replace eggs in some recipes.
      By: spline_x
      Flax seeds can replace eggs in some recipes.
    • Tofu is a popular meat substitute among vegans.
      By: Jiri Hera
      Tofu is a popular meat substitute among vegans.
    • Soya mince is a popular meat substitute among vegans because of its high protein content and low cost.
      By: andystjohn
      Soya mince is a popular meat substitute among vegans because of its high protein content and low cost.
    • Many vegans have an allergy or sensitivity to dairy products or avoid them for ethical reasons.
      By: lidante
      Many vegans have an allergy or sensitivity to dairy products or avoid them for ethical reasons.
    • Because it's made from vegetable sources, canola oil is tolerated by most vegans.
      By: branex
      Because it's made from vegetable sources, canola oil is tolerated by most vegans.
    • Vegan leather is available for those who wish to wear clothing that mimics leather without the use of animal products.
      By: Stocksnapper
      Vegan leather is available for those who wish to wear clothing that mimics leather without the use of animal products.