Fact Checked

What Are the Different Types of Vegan Drinks?

Lori Kilchermann
Lori Kilchermann

Obvious choices for vegan drinks include pure water, as well as tea and water flavored with fruit juice. Vegan drinks, such as natural sodas, smoothies and shakes, can be made at home. There are many types of alcoholic vegan drinks which do not contain animal products or byproducts, such as brandy, gin and vodka. Some products, such as Almond BreezeĀ® almond milk and Silk PureCoconutĀ® milk, are manufactured as vegan drinks.

The process of clarifying some alcoholic drinks, such as cider and beer, often involves animal-derived substances, such as gelatin. Other alcoholic drinks are typically fine for vegans, such as Scotch whiskey, gin and vodka. Many wines, with the exception of those specialty wines specifically made to be vegan drinks, are off-limits. Some alcoholic drinks and drink mixes have honey and cream listed as ingredients on their labels, which signifies they are not vegan drinks.

Gin does not contain animal products.
Gin does not contain animal products.

While pure water is a suitable beverage choice for vegans, seltzer water and pure water with fruit juice are also acceptable. Water with a few drops of lime or lemon juice is also acceptable for vegan consumption. Fruit juices, as long as they are 100-percent juice, are also suitable vegan drinks.

Many types of teas, including green, black and herbal, are vegan drinks. While most diet sodas are fine, some sodas contain red food coloring that is made from beetles, or they contain honey. Soda made with high-fructose corn syrup rather than sugar is often vegan. Some sugar is processed with bone char, so not all soda with sugar is vegan. Also, some orange-colored sodas contain gelatin.

Pure water is an obvious choice for a vegan drink.
Pure water is an obvious choice for a vegan drink.

Many vegan drinks can be made at home. Almond milk can also be made at home by blending with slivered almonds, warm water and almond extract. Natural soda can be made at home by filling a glass more than half full with 100-percent fruit juice concentrate and topping it off with sparkling water. Optional spices and herbs can also be added.

Fruit smoothies can be made with all-vegan ingredients. Orange strawberry tofu smoothie is a blend of tofu, orange juice and frozen strawberries. Pineapple tofu smoothies feature pineapple chunks, tofu and juice, while strawberry tofu smoothies features strawberries, tofu and juice. Tropical tofu smoothie features pineapple juice, strawberries and coconut flavoring.

Many vegan smoothies include strawberries.
Many vegan smoothies include strawberries.

A variety of smoothies can be made vegan-friendly. Banana breakfast smoothies are made with vegan ice cream, vegan soy milk and bananas. Maple apple walnut smoothies are made with tofu, maple flavoring and frozen bananas. The ingredients are blended along with vegan soy milk, vegan maple syrup and apples.

You might also Like

Discussion Comments


When it comes to vegan drinks, if you have a blender, there is no end to the wonderful tasting smoothies you can make. I will usually use whatever fresh fruit and/or vegetables I have on hand.

Many times this is a meal replacement for me and I like to add protein and fiber to the drink too. I use a plant based protein powder and like to add flax seed for extra fiber.

Once this is all mixed in with the fruits and vegetables, you can't even taste it. You can also add vegetables like carrots and cabbage to your fruits and not even taste them.

If you have kids that don't like vegetables, this is a great way to get some vegetables down them. When they are mixed in with strawberries, apples and bananas, they can't even taste them.


I have been a vegan for a few years now, and there are more alternatives available today than there were even a few years ago. A few years ago if you were trying to replace milk in your diet, you didn't have that many choices that were readily available.

Now most every supermarket sells almond, rice and coconut milk, which are great alternatives. I like to mix rice and almond milk together for my cereal. The rice milk is very thin and the almond milk is thick, so the combination is just the right consistency for me.

Coconut milk is a new one that I have been trying recently too. I love having so many tasty and healthy options available for me that used to be harder to find.


A few years ago I decided to give up drinking soda because I knew it wasn't good for me. I tried to go with straight water, but found that I really missed the carbonation from the soda I had been drinking.

I have seen Dr. Oz recommend using seltzer water with some lime or lemon juice squeezed into it. I tried this and really liked how it tasted. The fruit juice added the right amount of flavor, and I got the fizz I was missing from the seltzer water.

For someone who is trying to cut back on the amount of soda they are drinking this is a good alternative. I made the switch because I didn't think the high-fructose corn syrup in the soda was good for me.

Most vegans I know are pretty particular about what they eat and drink and I don't know very many of them who drink soda on a regular basis. Most of them prefer to make their own vegan soft drinks than buy the traditional soft drinks from the store.


Even though I don't consider myself a true vegan or 100% vegetarian, I make a lot of drinks at home that would be considered vegan drinks. It is fun to experiment with different combinations of fruits and vegetables when making these kind of drinks.

I drink more water than anything else, but I know for a lot of people, that gets kind of boring. I like to add a few drops of pure grade essential oil to my drinking water.

As long as this is pure essential oil that is safe for food consumption, this is a great alternative. Most of the time I just put in a few drops of lemon oil, but many times I like a combination of lemon and peppermint.

Spearmint and tangerine or also two flavors that can really make a plain glass of water more appealing and refreshing.

Post your comments
Forgot password?
    • Gin does not contain animal products.
      By: Juri Samsonov
      Gin does not contain animal products.
    • Pure water is an obvious choice for a vegan drink.
      By: anyaivanova
      Pure water is an obvious choice for a vegan drink.
    • Many vegan smoothies include strawberries.
      By: Dmitriy Syechin
      Many vegan smoothies include strawberries.
    • Some vegan green smoothies are made with avocado, which adds creaminess to the drink.
      By: Johan Larson
      Some vegan green smoothies are made with avocado, which adds creaminess to the drink.
    • Vegans might enjoy drinking an all natural smoothie.
      By: Tanouchka
      Vegans might enjoy drinking an all natural smoothie.
    • Vodka is usually vegan.
      By: stokkete
      Vodka is usually vegan.
    • Scotch whiskey is considered fine as a drink for vegans.
      By: Gresei
      Scotch whiskey is considered fine as a drink for vegans.