How Many Different Countries Have Won the World Cup?

Until 2010, only seven countries have won the World Cup: Uruguay, Brazil, Argentina, France, England, Italy and Germany. Spain brought that tally up to eight when it won the 2010 World Cup on July 11, 2010. Brazil holds the record for the most World Cup wins at five. There have been 19 World Cup matches since the tournament began in 1930.

More Fancy Football Facts:

  • The inaugural World Cup was hosted by Uruguay in 1930 and 13 countries competed, only four were from Europe. Uruguay won the first World Cup while 93,000 fans watched. 32 countries compete today.

  • The World Cup is the most-watched sporting competition in the world, with more than 700 million fans watching.

  • Brazil is the only country to have attended every World Cup competition.

  • The World Cup has been held every four years since its inaugural event, with only two exceptions of 1942 and 1946 during World War II.
More Info: FIFA

Discuss this Article

Post your comments
Forgot password?